What's On

4000 Miles

29 Apr 2022 - 14 May 2022
Mordialloc Theatre Co. Inc.

Author: Amy Herzog

Director: George Werther

Genre: Drama

Synopsis

This Pulitzer prize-nominated play tells the story of Leo, a disconnected 21 year-old boy who has had a number of personal setbacks and a particular tragedy as he cycled across the US to New York, to be with his 90 year-old grandmother, Vera, as he has no-one else to turn to. Vera is a feisty Marxist who is struggling with the challenges of ageing and loss of long-standing friends. Leo and Vera share time together, finding common ground as they reveal painful and sometimes unexpected events in their respective lives. Leo’s girlfriend Becca arrives to break up with Leo, whom she regards as aimless, further adding to his pain. During a brief fling with a young chirpy, uninhibited but fiercely anti-Communist student, Leo reveals more of his life and family. The bond between Leo and Vera strengthens as they share a further sad event. This is a poignant and moving story shared across a two generational gap. It deals with the human condition in a touching and very meaningful way. This is the premiere Australian non-professional production.

Performances

Start Date: 29 Apr 2022

End Date: 14 May 2022

Performance Times:

2:30pm on:

  • Sun 1st May 2022
  • Sat 7th May 2022
  • Sun 8th May 2022

8:00pm on:

  • Fri 29th Apr 2022
  • Sat 30th Apr 2022
  • Thu 5th May 2022
  • Fri 6th May 2022
  • Sat 7th May 2022
  • Thu 12th May 2022
  • Fri 13th May 2022
  • Sat 14th May 2022

Ticket Prices:

Adults $26.00
VIPS and concessions $24.00
Children & groups $21.00

Bookings: www.mordialloctheatre.com or phone 9587 5141 and leave a message for our Ticket Secretary to return your call.

Theatre: Shirley Burke Theatre

Theatre Address:

64 Parkers Rd
Parkdale

Other Information:

Parking in the area is difficult. Please leave enough time to find a parking space.

Auditions

Characters Summary:

1M(20s), 3F(80s,20s)

Audition Dates:

2:00pm on:

  • Sun 12th Dec 2021

7:00pm on:

  • Tue 14th Dec 2021

More info