What's On

The Deep Blue Sea

19 May 2022 - 4 Jun 2022
Lilydale Athenaeum Theatre Co.Inc.

VDL Awards Entry: 2022

Author: Terence Rattigan

Director: Alan Burrows

Genre: Drama

Agent: Origin Theatrical on behalf of Samuel French Inc.

Synopsis

Terence Rattigan’s ‘The Deep Blue Sea’ tells the story of Hester Collyer, the young wife of the High Court Judge William Collyer, who has embarked on a passionate affair with Freddie Page, a handsome young former RAF pilot troubled by his memories of the war. Their relationship is physical and passionate, but his ardour has cooled, leaving her emotionally stranded and desperate. Taking place over the course of one day we witness her battle as she struggles to come to terms with her situation and to find a reason to go on living. Will she return to William or will Freddie relent, and how will the interactions with others in the apartment block affect her circumstances and decision?

Performances

Start Date: 19 May 2022

End Date: 4 Jun 2022

Performance Times:

2:00pm on:

  • Sun 22nd May 2022
  • Sun 29th May 2022
  • Sat 4th Jun 2022

8:00pm on:

  • Thu 19th May 2022
  • Fri 20th May 2022
  • Sat 21st May 2022
  • Wed 25th May 2022
  • Thu 26th May 2022
  • Fri 27th May 2022
  • Sat 28th May 2022
  • Tue 31st May 2022
  • Wed 1st Jun 2022
  • Thu 2nd Jun 2022
  • Fri 3rd Jun 2022
  • Sat 4th Jun 2022

Ticket Prices:

Adult: $27 per person
Concession: $25 per person
Groups 10 or more: $22 per person
Season (4 plays): $88 per person

Bookings: Phone: 9735 1777 or Online: lilydaleatc.com

Theatre: Lilydale Athenaeum Theatre

Theatre Address:

39 - 41 Castella Street, Lilydale.