What's On

Torch Song

20 May 2022 - 4 Jun 2022
Brighton Theatre Co.

VDL Awards Entry: 2022

Author: Harvey Fierstein

Director: Annie Blood

Genre: Drama

Agent: Origin Theatrical on behalf of Samuel French Inc

Synopsis

Torch Song is the two-act revival of Harvey Fierstein’s award-winning Torch Song Trilogy (Winner 1983 Tony Award for Best Play and 1983 Drama Desk Award for Outstanding New Play).

Torch Song follows the life of Arnold Beckoff, a Jewish torch song singing drag queen living in New York City. The story takes place over the span of the late 1970s and early 1980s. Told with a likeable, human voice, Torch Song follows Arnold’s odyssey to find happiness in New York.

All he wants is a husband, a child and a pair of bunny slippers that fit, but a visit from his overbearing mother reminds him that he needs one thing more: respect.

Torch Song speaks to themes of courage, resilience and perseverance and will have the audience laughing one minute and cheering on the next.

Performances

Start Date: 20 May 2022

End Date: 4 Jun 2022

Performance Times:

2:15pm on:

  • Sun 22nd May 2022
  • Sun 29th May 2022

8:00pm on:

  • Fri 20th May 2022
  • Sat 21st May 2022
  • Wed 25th May 2022
  • Thu 26th May 2022
  • Fri 27th May 2022
  • Sat 28th May 2022
  • Wed 1st Jun 2022
  • Thu 2nd Jun 2022
  • Fri 3rd Jun 2022
  • Sat 4th Jun 2022

Ticket Prices:

Adult $25
Concession $23

Bookings: Ph 0439 069 479 / www.brightontheatre.com.au

Theatre: Brighton Theatre Company

Theatre Address:

Cnr Wilson & Carpenter Sts Brighton

Auditions

Characters Summary:

Arnold (Late 20s to Mid 30s)
Ed (Late 20s to Mid 30s)
Laurel (Late 20s to Mid 30s)
Alan (20s)
David (Teenager)
Ma (40+)

Audition Dates:

5:00pm on:

  • Sun 6th Mar 2022

7:30pm on:

  • Mon 7th Mar 2022

More info